Feedback…a Reflection

2So today is a day of multiple reflections.  First, I am reflecting on how Spring Break zoomed by so rapidly.  Second, I am continuing my reflection of teaching practices for the 2016 – 2017 school year.  My blog yesterday focused on the largest area of concern I had…doing a better job of collaborating!  Today, I want to focus on another area of concern…feedback!

My confession to you, I am not very good at giving solid feedback to my students.  This was a major concern for me last year as well.  I did do a much better job presenting feedback in a timelier manner.   Next year I want to focus on the quality of my feedback.  I honestly feel that I should be able to resolve this issue rather easily.  I have done some research, and the blended teaching model seems to be the way to go.  In her blog, Megan Kelly does a great job explaining what blended learning is, and how to implement it in my classroom.

The blended model allows lessons to continue while I take time for individualized learning or feedback.  Megan says, “All students learn differently, so we need to modify our classroom practices in a way that supports the diverse learners in our classroom.  Through the blended learning process, it’s not only possible to reach these diverse learners, but it is easy.”

While I do not want to oversimplify things, simply stated, in a blended teaching model students are given the basics.  This could be in the form of lecture or lesson.  Students are then released to dig deeper into the material.  While students are engaged in their deeper learning, students can be pulled out one-by-one for individualized learning or feedback.  Without skipping a beat, high order learning and feedback can be conducted simultaneously.

As Bradley Busch says in his blog, “Feedback can be a difficult business. When it is used in the right way, it can be one of the most effective strategies to improve learning, according to The Sutton Trust. But research also suggests that, if handled badly, it can do more harm than good.”

Solely, this will not make my feedback perfect, it will certainly help to improve it!  I look forward to seeing how things work out!

Leave a Reply

